Brian J Smith
The Nevada Statutory Sexual Defense Statute: What Every Parent Should Know
Statutory sexual defense, or statutory rape, is an issue that can tear a family apart. Parents should be aware of the laws regarding age of consent, in case they find their children needing legal representation. In Nevada, a statutory sexual seduction statute is currently in place, criminalizing any act of sexual penetration upon a person who has been deemed too young to legally consent to sexual activities. With this statute in place, it is vital to understand exactly what makes up the laws regarding sexual defense.
In Nevada, the legal age of consent is 16-years-old. Even if the relationship is consensual, an 18-year-old having sexual relations with a 15-year-old can still be prosecutable. Unlike rape and sexual assault, statutory sexual seduction charges do not take into account consent of the victim. Prosecution can still occur, even if the underage person did give consent and does not wish to press charges.
The Nevada statutory defense statute is in place to protect minors from being taken advantage of, but can be detrimental for both families involved in a legal battle. For a domestic violence attorney in Las Vegas, contact Brian J. Smith at 702-380-8248.