Brian J Smith
DUI Penalties in Nevada
If you’re charged with a DUI in Nevada, you could face various different consequences. Some are determined by the level of intoxication you were determined to have, and some depend upon your driving record and the circumstances surrounding your case.
The Consequences of DUI in Nevada
The state of Nevada is one of the strictest states when it comes to driving under the influence. It has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to the matter and imposes strict penalties on those who are convicted of doing so. That’s why if you’re charged with DUI in Nevada, it is essential that you obtain the representation of a Las Vegas criminal lawyer as soon as possible.
Perhaps one of the most severe consequences of being convicted of a DUI in Nevada is that your license could be suspended, which means that you can’t legally operate a motor vehicle throughout the duration of your suspension. The suspension period for a first offense is 90 days, a second offense is 1 year and a third offense is years. If you receive more than three DUI offenses, you face having your license suspended indefinitely.
Of course, another extremely detrimental penalty of being found guilty of a DUI is the possibility of incarceration. When you’re arrested of a DUI, you’re immediately taken to jail. Usually you can bond out, but when you later go into court, you could be slapped with a sentence. A first offense carries the possibility of 2 days to 6 months in jail, a second offense carries the possibility of 10 days to 6 months and a third offense could possibly land you with 1 to 6 years in jail.
Fines and Fees
Any time you’re convicted of a crime, you’ll have to pay fines and court fees. Not only will you have to pay court costs, but you’ll also be fined with anywhere from $400 to $1,000 for a first offense DUI, $750 to $1,000 for a second offense DUI and $2,000 to $5,000 for a third offense. To top it all off, you’ll also have to pay a license reinstatement fee once your suspension period is over and you attempt to get your license back.