Battery domestic violence charges are very serious matters. In Nevada, a conviction for a first offense carries penalties of up to 6 months in jail, mandatory counseling, and a fine and community service. If you are convicted of this crime, you will also lose your Second Amendment right to own or possess a firearm. A second offense conviction carries a minimum mandatory 10 days in jail, along with enhanced counseling and community service requirements and a higher fine. A third offense may be charged as a non-probationable felony, with a possible sentence of 1 to 5 years in prison.
Domestic violence cases in Las Vegas need to be handled very carefully. When a person is charged with battery domestic violence, prosecution must prove two elements: they must prove the battery, and they must prove a domestic relationship. A battery, as defined by the Nevada legislature, does not necessarily mean that you punched another person, or slapped them, or kicked them; it can be any kind of any contact that is harmful or offensive. If you dump a glass of water on somebody’s head, that is a battery.
If you do not have an experienced attorney present by the charges, it is possible to receive a conviction based on false allegations of domestic violence. It goes without saying that charges of this nature may have lasting effects on your future employment as well as many other aspects of your life. Some related charges associated with domestic violence include:
- Aggravated Battery
- Spousal Abuse
- Protective Orders and Restraining Orders
- Child Abuse and Neglect
- Date Rape
- Battery Domestic Violence with Strangulation
- Domestic Assault
- Assault and Battery
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Assault
- Disorderly Conduct
Las Vegas Domestic Violence Attorney
Obtain the services of a Las Vegas domestic violence lawyer to avoid some of the consequences of these charges, ranging from minor charges such as anger management and marital counseling, to much more serious charges, including significant jail time.
Nevada Domestic Violence Penalties
At least 2 days, up to 6 months in the Clark County Detention Center
$200.00 to $10,000 (plus Court administrative costs)
Not less than 48 hours nor more than 120 hours community service.
Participation in weekly counseling sessions of not less than 1 1/2 hours per week for not less than 6 months nor more than 12 months at participant’s own expense.
Fine for assessment program ($100 fee)
At least 10 days, up to 6 months in the Clark County Detention Center
$500.00 to $10,000 (plus Court administrative costs)
Not less than 100 hours nor more than 200 hours community service.
Participation in weekly counseling sessions of not less than 1 1/2 hours per week for 12 months at participant’s own expense.
1 to 5 years in Nevada State Prison
A possible fine of not more than $10,000 plus assessments
Felony with no probation
Nevada Child Protective Services (CPS) – Take on domestic violence cases that occur in the presence of a child, protecting them from abuse and neglect.
Shade Tree – offers shelter to women and children, as well as offering positive services to empower them.
Safe Nest – works with families in Henderson, Nevada and all over the state to end abuse through a number of counseling and educational offerings.
An experienced domestic violence lawyer will be able to study your case with objectivity, taking into account all relevant details, no matter how strange or unprecedented they may be. Brian J. Smith has personally handled hundreds of domestic violence matters, and as a former prosecutor of battery domestic violence cases, has an uncommon level of experience and expertise. Brian J. Smith is a criminal lawyer Las Vegas with a documented history of success in these cases. Contact The Law Office of Brian J. Smith, LTD now if you have any questions about domestic violence charges, or if you are ready to use one of our excellent lawyers.